My Twitter Feed

April 4, 2020

News:

2015 San Pedro Prep Softball Preview -

Friday, May 1, 2015

Art Preview: ‘Non-Native’ by Ingrid Dietrich -

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

San Pedro Prep Baseball 2015 Preview -

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Recapping The Final Gaffey Street Community Workshop -

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Tiffany Torres Bears Down For Success At POLA High -

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

San Pedro Fish Market Launches Scholarship Contest -

Thursday, January 15, 2015

San Pedro’s Rita Fiorenza Is A Basketball Revelation -

Thursday, January 15, 2015

‘No Lane Reductions’ As Gaffey Street Redevelopment Plans Move Forward -

Friday, January 9, 2015

San Pedro Prep Sports 2014 Fall Review -

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

LAPD Harbor Division and Philie B’s Pizza To Host Charity Events This Weekend -

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

San Pedro Holiday Parade Returns Sunday with a Twist -

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Winter Wonderland Comes To The Waterfront -

Monday, December 1, 2014

One-Way Streets May Come to Downtown San Pedro -

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

San Pedro’s Two Newest Volleyball Skyscrapers: Allison Kittell & Tracy Folchi -

Monday, November 10, 2014

San Pedro and POLA Prep Girls Cross-Country Preview: Running For More Glory -

Thursday, November 6, 2014

International Craft Beer Festival Comes to Crafted This Weekend -

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Second Workshop for Urban Greening Project Receives Warm Reception from Community -

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Construction of Mixed-Use Apartment Complex on Gaffey Could Begin Next Spring -

Thursday, September 25, 2014

UPDATE: Blaze Inside Port of L.A. in Wilmington Nearly Contained; Air Quality Deemed ‘Safe’ -

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

San Pedro High Football Off To Another Strong Start -

Monday, September 22, 2014

Video: Jamie Lynn Spears Performs on the USS Iowa

Jamie Lynn Spears performs an acoustic set of country songs aboard the Battleship Iowa on April 2. (Photo: Megan Barnes)

In what might be one of the most random San Pedro headlines of 2014, former child actress Jamie Lynn Spears gave a free concert on the USS Iowa on Wednesday. Presented by the Pacific Battleship Center and Go Country 105 FM, the 45-minute, daytime concert was a trial run for the USS Iowa as a concert venue.

About 200 fans turned out for the show and were offered half-priced tours of the battleship following the performance. The first 105 to arrive were treated to a free barbecue lunch.

Jamie Lynn Spears (who you might recognize as the little sister of pop star Britney Spears) braved the winds and proved her vocal ability as a country songstress with an impressive acoustic set of several songs from her forthcoming debut album, including the single, “How Could I Want More.” Her song “Miss Mississipi” included a brief segway into her older sister’s hit “Oops… I did it Again!” (Sadly, Britney wasn’t spotted aboard the ship. We looked.)

Rather appropriately, a ship named the Mississipi Voyager came down the main channel right after Spears’ performance.

Here’s a clip from “Shotgun Wedding”:

 

Leave A Comment